Flow Rate for water not to freeze in pipe?

In summary: It's really not that expensive - presumably you have enough money to provide pipes in the first place.In summary, the conversation discusses designing a filtered water supply system in a cold climate without insulation. The engineer suggests using a recirculation system to prevent the water from freezing, but others express concerns about potential failures and the potential for subcooling and freezing. The idea of using a thermo siphon system is also mentioned. However, the general consensus is that insulation is the safest and most cost-effective solution.
Novice Pipe D
I am a novice pipe designer and I have a project starting on Monday. I have to design a Filtered Water Supply system. The pipe is SS and the majority of the header is located outside. The engineer said no insulation is needed if we put a recirculation system in. He says by keeping the water flowing the water will not freeze... I am concerned about this. The pipe will be exposed to the MidWest winter elements. Is it actually possible to design the system without insulation? If so what is the flow rate of the water to create enough friction to keep it from freezing?

Thanks in advance!
NPD

Engineering news on Phys.org
You need to calculate the heat loss through the entire length of SS pipe at the coldest ambient temperatures you'd encounter, and compare that to the heat input caused by the recirculation pump. If the latter is larger, the water can't freeze. I don't see how flow rate really matters, except in the fact that it would take more pump energy to make this happen. Also, don't forget that a thin layer of ice could form on the ID of the pipe, and affect the heat transfer. Insulation is probably still a good idea. Compare the long terms costs with and without.. consider too the costs for a failure of the recirculation pump, and the bursting of all external piping.. and downtime costs..