How to calculate the boil-off rate of LO2?

• Thread starter steves1080
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Rate
In summary: You will probably find that the heat flow is so small that it has no practical significance.In summary, the conversation discusses the use of a liquid oxygen tank and the concerns surrounding its saturation temperature and boil-off rate. The main factors to consider are the heat flow between the environment and the tank, the size of the vent valve, and the ullage space. Calculating the heat transfer rate can help determine the time it takes to reach saturation temperature and the amount of liquid lost when venting excess boil-off. However, these calculations may not have practical significance due to the small amount of heat flow involved.
steves1080
Hi everybody,

I am an entry-level engineer working on a launch pad and so far I have little experience with cryogenics. We have a 80,000 gallon capacity liquid oxygen tank on site, and it is generally filled to about 75% full, but varies depending on what is going on. What I am wondering is a couple of different things:

1- I understand that if the liquid oxygen has reached its saturation point, it is going to be warmer than liquid below its saturation temp due to a higher heat flux. What I do not understand is how to determine the time it takes to reach this saturation temperature. If the pressure inside the vessel never exceeds 3 psig in standby conditions and there is no temp sensor, is there even any way to know this?