High school research: am I lame?

In summary: You should only worry about whether or not you're learning the material and whether or not you're able to understand it. There is no need to worry about whether or not you're doing research at this point. In summary, the author is a 15 year old sophomore in HS who is afraid that he is doing research wrong and is not going far enough with it. He recommends that the reader learn the basics first (string theory, QM, and QFT are not the basics), and that the reader should only worry about learning the material and understanding it.
Chipset
Hello,

After reading https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=128879", I started to be afraid that same situation applies to me.

Let me describe situation. I'm currently a 15-year old sophomore in HS at US (though I only came to US 2.5 years ago). I have good skills at self-studying: I self-studied programming in C++ from Straustrup to Alexandresku and thank God, am in process of landing part-time C++ job. Six monthes ago, as well as five years ago (when I started programming), I was all set to go for computer science major and work as a soft.dev.

Yet I assured myself this April that I don't want to develop for life but rather like doing science. Please, acknowledg e that I DO understand my choice might change and re-change times more but heck, it is interesting and what can I do?.
Still, anyway, I, firstly interested in string theory through Green's video, got my hands quickly on first non-mathematical tutorial in quantum mechanics. Later in summer, on rather much mathematical textbook (Introduction to QM - Wileys). Right now I'm reading P&S - Intro. to QFT.
Not to be a hypocrite, I was looking at school science fairs such as ISEF and would be pleased to go there.