Basic question about small curled dimensions in string theory.

In summary, the author is asking if it's possible to travel to different curled up dimensions in the same way as you can travel to different points on Earth from any other point. He also wonders if these dimensions are connected in the same way as the 2nd dimension of space is connected.
Azuma
Hi,
I have no knowledge of ST but have a probably simple question.
I saw a program about how the extra dimensions of space in string theory are curled in on them selves. What I want to know is if they really are the same dimensions. Say for example if there are 11 dimensions and I would pick one , the sixth dimension and go into that dimension where it is curled up can I then travel to other curled up sixth dimensions ? Are they connected in the same way that the 2nd dimension of space is arranged like parallel lines while I am in this dimension ? Or are they all separate entities of dimension ?

to be clear when I talk about entering the sixth dimension I am not talking about as a human but in an imaginary way going into one particular instance of a curled dimension.

Does that make sense ?

Physics news on Phys.org
I am sure if I understand you problem correctly.

Take a rectangular piece of paper. Glue two opposite edges together to form a cylinder. Now one dimension is curled up to a circle, whereas the second dimension along the axis of the cylinder remains large. Now you have one small dimension (the circle) attached to one large dimension (the line along the axis of the cylinder). You can move freely along the small and along the large dimension. Even spirals around the cylinder are allowed

You can do similar things with more dimensions, if you like, but of course you can no longer visualize them. In addition in ST the shape of the small dimensions becomes much more complicated.

Likes tsandersZ50
Yeah I am talking about these small curled dimensions.