Condition for ODE Solutions with Variation of Parameters

In summary, the problem is trying to find a solution to a third order equation that has solutions (to the homogeneous equation) y_1(x), y_2(x), y_3(x). Differentiating again, \alpha(x)'y_1'(x)+\beta'(x)y_2'(x)+\gamma'(x)y_3'(x)+\alpha(x)y_1"(x)+\beta(x)y_2"(x)+\gamma(x)y_3"(x) doesn't work because the condition is that \alpha(x)'y_1'(x)+\beta'
twoflower
Hi,

I just started playing with higher order ODEs and I'm stuck in one particular step. Here it is:

[tex]
y^{''} + y = \frac{1}{\cos x}
[/tex]

1. step: I find fundamental solution system, which in this case is

[tex]
[\cos x, \sin x]
[/tex]

So general solution looks like this:

[tex]
y(x) = \alpha\cos x + \beta \sin x
[/tex]

Using the method of variation of parameters, [itex]\alpha[/itex] and [itex]\beta[/itex] become functions of x:

[tex]
y(x) = \alpha(x)\cos x + \beta(x) \sin x
[/tex]

[tex]
y'(x) = \alpha^{'}(x)\cos x - \alpha(x)\sin x + \beta^{'}(x) \sin x + \beta(x) \cos x
[/tex]

Now I don't understand the condition

[tex]
\alpha^{'}(x)\cos x + \beta^{'}(x) \sin x = 0
[/tex]

Why does it have to be so?

Thanks for explanation!

Physics news on Phys.org
Well you know it has to be something right? I mean:

[tex]\alpha^{'}(x)Cos(x)+\beta^{'}(x)Sin(x)=g(x)[/tex]

Tell you what though, let's just make g(x) equal to the zero function and just see what happens. No harm in that right? I mean we're not talking asteriods or nothing? If we do, the math is certainly much easier when the second derivative is calculated and all the subsequent arithmetic is valid and we end up with a valid answer.

Works for me.

saltydog said:
Well you know it has to be something right? I mean:
[tex]\alpha^{'}(x)Cos(x)+\beta^{'}(x)Sin(x)=g(x)[/tex]