3 physics courses at once too much?

In summary, it seems like the EM Theory course is the most intriguing to you and you want to take it, but you're worried about the workload. The course requires knowledge of vector calculus, which you may have already covered in your calculus sequence but can review through a textbook. It's also important to consider your other obligations when deciding on your course load.
accountkiller
I'm an undergraduate physics major. It's my 4th year at college but my 3rd year as a Physics major. Then I also took one semester off when I thought I wanted to go into elementary education instead so... my schedule of physics classes hasn't exactly been as standard as most others'. In the spring, I know for sure I am taking Intro to Circuits (200-level) and Classical Mechanics (300-level). I also want to add Electromagnetic Theory (400-level). However, I've heard from colleagues that all 3 of those courses require a lot of time for homework. The EM Theory professor said her course would take at least 10 hours outside of class.

So, I can't decide whether to take EM Theory or not. Out of all the course titles, that one always sounded the most intriguing to me. Any time I ask my parents a question about something interesting in physics, it always tends to break down to 'oh you'll learn that in EM Theory.' Since circuits and mechanics aren't particularly appealing subjects to me, I thought that having at least one course that I'm really into would be good so I don't get lazy and fall behind in the not-so-exciting courses. But I have been known to get too excited and overload my course schedule in the past. Last semester I took a general modern physics course, 2 labs, an english class, a 400-level astronomy course, and thermal physics (400-level) and had to drop the Thermal. So I know I'm okay with just a couple of physics classes but maybe not 3.