Install custom Latex package for senior thesis

In summary, the person is trying to install a custom Latex package designed by their school, but is having difficulty because they are new to the process. They have a directory of files related to the package, but they are not sure how to install it.
soothsayer
Hi guys! I need some Latex help, so I'll try to be a descriptive as I can,

I need to create a cover sheet for my senior thesis, and I'm trying to use the Latex format designed by my school, which uses a custom package called "ucscthesisbs" that I have to install in order to have the correct cover sheet format. I'm relatively new to Latex, and I'm finding this task impossible. I have a directory of various files I am assuming relate to the package. This directory is open to all and can be found here:

http://dave.ucsc.edu/physics195/BS_TexTemplate/

I downloaded all of these files onto my computer for good measure, they are all in the same directory as the one my thesis tex file is in.

I see that there is a file in the directory whose link I just posted called "how to format", which contains command lines I have surmised that I am supposed to enter into windows command prompt in order to install the package. I attempted this, but it goes wrong at the very beginning, as windows command spits back at me:
------------------
This is pdfTex, Version 3.1415926-2.3-1.40.12 <MikTex 2.9 64-bit>
entering extended mode
! I can't find file 'ucscbstest'
<*> ucscbstest

Please type another input file name:
------------------
I tried just continuing with the commands I was given, but it did not work. I tried typing in the full file extension, hoping latex would find it, but it did not. So I'm kinda stuck, and in need of some help. How do I go about installing this package?

(I'm using TeXstudio, if that matters at all.)

Thanks for any help!

Physics news on Phys.org

1. What is a custom LaTeX package?