Electron Configuration Calculations

This is what I meant by "the only real answer to question "why" is "because that's the way it is."" - it is not an explanation, just a statement of the fact.
truthfinder
Hello,

I've been trying to learn about electron configuration in atoms, and how it is calculated.

I pretty much figured out a lot of it from doing my own research. From what I understand, each group in the periodic table represents a different electron shell, and the blocks S, P, d, and F represent subshells. Once it got up to group 4, I figured it needed to fill 3D before working on 4P, and I was correct. I thought the same principal would apply once I got to the 6th group, so I expected Lanthanum to be [Xe]6s^2 4f^1. But, apparently, an electron is put in 5D first so that it is [Xe]6S^2 5d^1, and then Cerium is [Xe]6s^2 4f^1 5d^1. This makes no sense to me.

I admit, I am very new to learning about this. I am a physics and math major, and my first chemistry course starts next semester, and I was jus ttrying to get a bit of a head start. But I'd like to understand why it progresses in this fashion, when it's so unlike anything else before it.

it seems to repeat in Actinium, so at least it is persistent. But I want to know, why.

Thanks for any help. :)

Physics news on Phys.org