What master's degree should I take?

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's concerns about their studies in Industrial Engineering and their desire for a career in physics and engineering. They are unsure about what path to take for their master's degree and are considering working first before pursuing further education. They also mention the importance of knowing what one truly wants in order to make successful career choices.
Butters
I’m studying Industrial Engineering but it seems that I have nothing specific and it’s just about everything. I could say that it’s more mechanics related but we don’t study so specifically like mechanical engineers. That’s why I have some concerns about what these studies are making me. I don’t really know what I want besides that I like physics and would want to pursue a career in engineering.
What would be the best choice for my master's degree? Would physics fit? I guess I want physics because I'm afraid to choose anything specific like seeking deeper understanding in the same field as my major. But maybe Industrial Engineering + Physics would make lots of nothing. It's like If I worked as a scientist in some lab what good would there be from my IE degree.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'd advice against "I don't want to do anything specific". At some point you'll be looking for jobs. Jobs are very specific. And from experience with a lot of former colleagues, the "in time I will realize what I really want to do"-hope that usually accompanies "I don't want to do anything specific" usually doesn't come true for physicists, not even after a PhD in physics. You can as well make an educated guess of your future path now.

Timo said: