Quantum Mechanics: Learning Bra-Ket Notation

In summary, The book "Dirac's Principles of Quantum Mechanics" introduces Bra-Ket notation in the first chapter, which is a representation of a system in state space. While there may not be a specific physical interpretation for ket vectors, they can be used to represent physical vector quantities in three-dimensional mechanics problems. In terms of mathematical interpretation, the complex number <out|O|in> represents the amplitude to transition from state |in> to |out> using the operator O. The dual form of this is represented by <V|, with |V> being a vector. As mentioned in chapter 12, if the observable f is measured a large number of times for a system in the state |x>, the average result will
Reedeegi
I began my physics study about one year ago and learned all of classical mechanics in that year; but I am now studying Quantum Mechanics. The book I'm using (Dirac's Principles of Quantum Mechanics) Introduces Bra-Ket notation in the first chapter rather concisely. I understand the mathematical basis of the Bras and Kets, but what is the physical interpretation of them?

Physics news on Phys.org
Its a representation. Why does it need a physical meaning? Maybe a wavefunction, if you consider that physical.

K.J.Healey said:
Its a representation. Why does it need a physical meaning? Maybe a wavefunction, if you consider that physical.

I suppose I used the wrong word... What does it represent? and how?

A ket vector describes a system in state space but, like so many things in quantum mechanics, I'm not sure you could attach a 'physical interpretation' to them.

Of course if you wanted, I suppose you could use ket vectors for your usual 3-dimensional mechanics problems in which case [tex]\left|\alpha\right\rangle = \left(x\:y\:z\right)^{T}[/tex] could represent any physical vector quantity you like?