Math Analysis Course: Is it Helpful for Chem/Phys Undergrads?

In summary, this mathematical analysis class is helpful for those intending to pursue a career in physical sciences. It covers topics such as topology of Euclidean space, continuity, differentiation of real and vector-valued functions, Riemann-Stieltjes integration, and Fourrier analysis. It is not necessary for those studying chemistry, but is beneficial if you plan to go beyond undergraduate studies. Additionally, this class includes topics relevant to real/complex analysis.
MAins
Hi, I am a Chem/Physics undergrad and was wondering if a math course called "intro to analysis" would be helpful for me to take.

The course's topics are: "Topology of Euclidean space; continuity; differentiation of real and vector-valued functions; Riemann-Stieltjes integration."

Are those helpful for the physical sciences, specifically chem. physics or related areas?

I've already had calc, linear alg./diff. equations, and am taking some advanced courses on diff. equations.

Physics news on Phys.org
The book is "Principles of Math. Analysis" by Rudin.

Not sure how helpful it would be, but it would be useful if you eventually go to grad school and take some harder QM. Basically, you won't have need for this kind of math until later down the road.

Thanks. I was told some courses in Real Analysis and Complex Analysis might be helpful. I'm not sure my school offers that; so would these topics not be covered at all in this mathematical analysis class? Any suggestions as to what I should take otherwise?

Also, in a somewhat related vein, I was told a class in Fourrier analysis might be helpful. Any idea about what sort of class offers that? I know I'll learn some in my PDE class, but was wondering if it's typically presented in other math classes as well.

Last edited:
MAins said: