Need advice on how to study trigonometry

In summary, the person is having trouble remembering all their trig for use in derivatives. They have some stuff memorized, obviously soh cah toa, and the derivatives of the six trig functions. However, when using them in an equation there are other properties which they're not sure of.
iamsmooth
I'm currently in first year calculus, and I'm having trouble remembering all my trig for use in derivatives.

I have some stuff memorized, obviously soh cah toa, and the derivatives of the six trig functions.

i.e. derivatives of
sinx = cosx
cosx = -sinx
tan = sec^2(x)

etc...

but when using them in an equation there are other properties which I'm not sure of. For example: cos(0) = 1 (or something like that?) and sinx/x = 1. No where in my trig section does it point out these properties or explain them (I have,however, found proofs of sinx/x = 1 online), it seems to be required knowledge that the textbook assumes you know... but I don't.

So what I'm asking is, does anyone know where I could look (possibly a webpage) where I could find these properties? Or is there a proper name I can check the appendix of my textbooks for that might explain these things for me.

Physics news on Phys.org
A great thing to know is the unit circle:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unit_circle

This is a circle of radius one, and in each ordered pair, the x-component represents cosine while the y-component represents sine. If that isn't very clear, just visualize a right triangle from the origin to that point. Only memorizing a couple numbers is needed to be able to figure out the sine and cosine of nice angles.

Also, don't forget the limit in your expression: "sinx/x = 1"...

[tex]\lim_{x\to0}\frac{\sin x}{x}=1[/tex]

as (sin x)/x does not always equal one, for example:

[tex]\frac{\sin(\pi/4)}{\pi/4}=\frac{2\sqrt{2}}{\pi}\neq1[/tex]

Last edited:
These are the most important ones
lim_x->0 sin(x)/x=1
sin(x+y)=sin(x)cos(y)+cos(x)sin(y)