Can a foreigner work in American airlines as an engineer?

In summary, the speaker is from China and studying in the US. They are interested in working in the aerospace industry, specifically in airlines or companies focused on civil use. They are unsure if American citizenship is necessary for these positions and plan to contact HR departments for more information on qualifications and immigration issues. They also mention the need for a Green Card and Social Security Number. They are advised to seek help from their employer if a job is offered. Other forum members mention their company's experience with non-US citizens working in aerospace and suggest contacting HR departments directly for accurate information.
dingkun
I'm from China and I am studying AE in University of Illinois in the US. I would like to work in the US after graduate. It's clear that an American citizenship is necessary to find a job in some companies on designing and manufacturing, like Boeing and Locked Martin.
I want to know whether I can work in airlines, for example, Delta, Northwest, United, and some companies only focus on civil use, like Cessna Cirrus,as an engineer without the American citizenship. I look this up on their websites, but they don't say anything about citizenship. Does that mean those companies do not require American citizenship, or its just a tradition, so, they simply don't mention it?

Thank you!

Engineering news on Phys.org
If you want to find out what is required, I suggest you contact the Human Resources departments of the various airlines to find out:
1. If they have any positions in which you might be interested.
2. What qualifications are required for the particular position.
3. What citizenship/immigration issues might apply to you if you are hired.