Choosing the Right Turboprop Engine for Light Aircraft

In summary, the third year student is designing a light aircraft and has run into a few issues. He wants to import a turboprop engine, but is unsure which one to choose. He recommends the Rolls Royce Turboprop as the best option for the aircraft.
Sunige
Hi,

I'm a third year student studying mechanical engineering under going a third year dissertation.

My individual project consists of designing a light aircraft, however I have ran into a few issues. I want to import a turboprop engines for my 4 person light aircraft. Following that I am very interested in the Pt6a turboprop engine however there are various models with different shp. I am fully aware that the shp will be low because of the nature of the aircraft but I can not find any equation to relate shp, velocity and can not decide which one to go for !

Would you guys have any tips or sources that would be helpful to help me choose between individual engines?

Thanks

source: http://www.pwc.ca/en/engines/pt6a-21 [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
Engineering news on Phys.org
The PT6 is a family of engines, rather than a single model, with power from 600-1500sHp.
This is really too big for a light 4 seater, you would be better served by the RollsRoyce/Allison 250.
More generally, you might look at existing 4 seat aircraft to get a sense for how much power is needed for a given performance. Do note turbine engines are rarely used, because they are so expensive relative to a200-300hp piston powerplant.
Older designs such as the Cessna 210 might need 300 hp to get the same performance that a Mooney achieves with 240 hp. Speed is not as much a function of power as it is of aerodynamic design, with power more a tool to provide more payload/climb. You first size your people box and then wrap the airplane around that.

Hi,

Thank you for your reply that has really helped me out !