Maxwell's speed distribution law

In summary, the conversation is about the derivation of Maxwell's speed distribution for gases and the use of independence in the combined probability. The speaker is uncomfortable with the assumption of exponential dependence and is unsure about the use of P as a partition function. The argument is based on the independence of V_x, V_y, and V_z.
Kolahal Bhattacharya
In a non-traditional type of derivation of Maxwell's speed distribution for gases,I happen to face the following problem:
They say since P(v_x),P(v_y),P(v_z) are independent,so the combined probability wil be P=P(v_x)P(v_y)P(v_z).
This much is OK.Then they say the only function having the property f(a+b+c)=f(a)f(b)f(c)
is an exponential function.So, consider the P(v_x) as to have exponential dependence P(v_x)=K exp[-L*(v_x)^2].This makes me uncomfortable.Did we have P=P(v_x+P_y+P_z)?I am a bit new to statistical ideas,so really cannot be sure when we said the joint probability is P,it means P=P(v_x+P_y+P_z).
Please help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you what a partition function is?

OK, I do not know.Is P acting as a partition function here?How do we know that?And after all,what does it do?

I think the argument holds because

[tex]V^2 = V_x^2 + V_y^2 + V_z^2[/tex]
therefore
[tex]P(V^2) = P( V_x^2 + V_y^2 + V_z^2 )[/tex]
and the next step follows from the independence of V_x, V_y and V_z.

Thank you all very much

1. What is Maxwell's speed distribution law?

Maxwell's speed distribution law, also known as the Maxwell-Boltzmann distribution, is a mathematical formula that describes the distribution of speeds of particles in a gas at a given temperature. It is a fundamental concept in thermodynamics and statistical mechanics.

2. What does Maxwell's speed distribution law tell us?