Traveling faster than the speed of light?

In summary, the conversation discussed the inability to travel faster than the speed of light and the concept of relativity, where time and space can stretch to ensure this limit is not exceeded. The special properties of light were also mentioned, but the reason for its uniqueness is still unknown. The rules of relativity were derived by Einstein based on contradictions in 19th century science, and his theory has been proven through various experiments.
maxwilli06
I'm a total amateur so please don't judge my lack of knowledge. I'm a film major with a lot of interest in science.

So I know that it is not possible to travel faster that the speed of light. But I had this idea the other day:

If a capsule traveling at 99.9% of the speed of light and there is another object within this capsule, then it can still move forward right? And when it does, it is technically moving faster than the speed of light, right?

Physics news on Phys.org
No. It's really wierd, time and space sort of stretch to make sure that nothing goes faster than the speed of light. Time can flow at different rates and even space can stretch for different objects. That's this ‘relativity’ thing.

When different objects, say space ships, are moving at different speeds (and the difference in speed is near light speed) from one space ship's perspective time is moving more slowly on the other spaceship and even distance looks different - the other spaceship seems to be squished and foreshortened.

The squishing of distance and slowing of time effects add up as you try to go faster so that in the end nothing travels faster than the speed of light.

And it's all proven to actually happen, for real: using really precise, synchronized clocks show the slowing of time for the clock that goes for a really high-speed trip, say flying around the world in an airplane. And it's been proven in other ways too.

Crazy, huh?