Should I Get a 1 or 2 Year Master's in Physics?

In summary, the speaker has an undergraduate degree in chemistry and is planning on getting a PhD in physics. They are considering a one-year master's degree at a prestigious university, but are unsure if it will fill in enough gaps in their physics education. The speaker's university requires incoming grad students with a master's degree to retake some coursework. The one-year master's program at Cornell requires a thesis and may include the same physics classes as the PhD program. The speaker is seeking more specific information about which courses they have taken and plan to take in both the one-year and two-year master's programs.
Moonshine
I have an undergraduate degree in chemistry. I'm taking some physics classes and I plan on eventually getting a PhD in physics. I plan on getting a master's before I go for the PhD. This will allow me to fill in some gaps in my physics education.

My question is, what are you guy's thoughts on the one-year master's degrees offered by some universities? Cornell's master of engineering in engineering physics comes to mind. Would I be better off doing a regular two-year, research oriented master's degree at a less prestigious school?

Physics news on Phys.org
If you don't have an undergraduate degree in physics, a one-year masters program isn't going to fill in enough of the gaps for you to be ready for a PhD in physics. Especially if the masters isn't in physics (engineering physics probably isn't close enough). If you are going to go for a PhD, a masters that includes a thesis is invaluable - not only to show PhD schools that you can handle the coursework, but also that you're ready to do research. My university requires that incoming grad students with masters degree retake some of the coursework anyway.

Well, I'm going to end up taking almost every required undergraduate physics course, excepting some labs.