Electronic Engineer Career in Gaming: Possible?

• Thread starter irwind2
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Career
In summary, In the current game industry, it's not easy being a programmer. You may have to fight for your rights and be treated poorly.
irwind2
Hi, I am am currently doing electronic engineering in college and i was woundering if it was possible to get a career in game design or game development as a electronic engineer, i know that software/digital media engineering is probable a better route to go down in terms of gaming, but programming is now becoming a big part of electronic engineering now adays.

i am still in first year but i know people in second year electronic and they have object orientated projramming, plus i will be learning C in the next semester. plus since i am still in first year i can always change course next year if needs be. but i do have a prefferance to electronics, but any help provided would be much apreciated, thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Maybe in the hardware, but in my experience licensed EEs don't have the programming skills necessary to work competently on large software projects.

Why not do graphics cards, sounds cards, innovative controllers?. I would think that it is EE who do all the interface hardware.

In general, gaming programers/designers are treated like garbage. You're a low paid, easily replaceable tool, and you're treated like it.

Now, there are exceptions. I wouldn't leave an EE career in hopes of being one of them.

Best of luck if you still decide to pursue it.

irwind2, a friend of mine just started a master's program in Game Design and Development, at Rochester Institute of Technology. You might be able to find their website, or call or email them, and inquire about what sort of background is sufficient.