I have low gpa, but i want to go to grad school in a different subject.?

In summary, the conversation discusses the individual's low GPA and their current objective of going to graduate school in economics. They express concerns about their chances of admission due to their lack of courses in economics and their low GPA. The individual then presents a plan to address these concerns by taking economic courses and networking with professors, but also acknowledges potential challenges such as opportunity cost and lack of financial assistance. Ultimately, the conversation ends with the individual questioning if their plan will work and considering other options such as law school.
RiceOnWok
I graduated from a top undergraduate program in applied mathematics with a general GPA of 2.91, subject GPA of 3.13 from a T1, or T2 applied math program in the nation. I found that my GPA don `t reflect my true capacity, and that i chosen the wrong subject to get a degree in. My low GPA might also be due to the fact that i tend to pick "hard classes" without regard much for my GPA.

My current objective is to go to graduate school in economics. I never took a single course in economics, but i tend to find myself reading economic journal articles in the field. I am interested in contract theory, and game theory. Since i have low GPA, and hardly a single course in economics. How am i going to find admission in a top research program in the world?
I plan to do the following to help solve my two problems( GPA, and course requirement):

I plan to be a non-matriculated student at UCLA, or UCSD for 4 continuous quarters, and take only, and only economic courses. I plan to network with my professors, so that they may write to a good recommendation when i ask them.

By doing the above, I would hope to convince the admission people in economic graduate that i can do it. Doing the above would also generate new problems:

The opportunities cost wasted for that one year.