Fitting a Sine Curve to Two Points

In summary, Ryan is trying to solve an equation that gives the position of an element as a function of time, of the form f(x) = sin(ax+b)+c. He is a little rusty on the details, but if anyone would be so kind as to offer some clarification and save him a few more days of trial and error, he would greatly appreciate it.
Alterscape
I'm a web developer working on a bit of javascript code for a personal project. I took through Calc II and linear algebra in college, but haven't looked at any of it a couple of years, so I'm a little rusty on the details. Anyway, what I'm trying to work out is a way to scale/transform an equation giving the position of an element as a function of time, of the form f(x) = sin(ax+b)+c , so that it has a given f(x) and f'(x) for two given values of x, and f''(x) at one of those values. If I remember right, I'm going to need to set up a system of equations including the function and both derivatives and solve it to calculate the necessary values of a, b, and c, but I'm a bit rusty on the details. If anyone would be so kind as to offer some clarification and save me a few more days of trial and error, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

-Ryan

Physics news on Phys.org
First off if you may want to use a more general form of the sin equation.

f(x)= A sin(bx) +c

It is not clear to me that you need a phase factor (your b) simply because it represents a shift on the coordinate axis.
However, you may well need an Amplitude (my A) This will allow your resultant function to have an amplitude other then 1 (in what ever units you choose)

If this:

[tex] f(x) = A \sin(Bx) + C [/tex]

[tex] f(x_1) = h; \ f'(x_1)=k [/tex]
[tex] f(x_2) = a; \ f'(x_2)=b; \ f''(x_2)=n [/tex]

is the problem you are trying to solve, then you may have some troubles. There is no guarantee that you will be able to find a solution to fit all of those conditions.

Perhaps you can give us a bit more detail about what you are trying to do.