Is the Kinematics of 3D Space Truss Affected by Closed Loops in the System?

In summary, the conversation is about a PhD student's research on analyzing the rigidity of a structure of rigid beams in 3D. The student presents a diagram of the structure and discusses the possibility of it being able to move. They also ask for a theory to help understand the problem. The conversation then delves into terminology and notations, specifically regarding joints and degrees of freedom. The student provides examples of different types of triangles and their degrees of freedom, and the conversation concludes with a discussion on the constraints and dofs of the structure. The student is still unsure about the number of rotations a thin truss should have.
topcomer
Hi,

I am a PhD student in math and in my current research I'm faced with the problem of analyzing the rigidity of a structure of rigid beams in 3D, that is if the structure can move. In particular, something like this:

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/1545/98322092.th.jpg [Broken]

where all the lower and left lines vertices are fixed. It is thus clear that the row and column formed by little squares are rigid, and the same is true for the bottom-right and the upper-left triangles. However, it seems that this structure is not rigid in 3D since is possible to move the upper-right pair of triangles along the diagonal of the big square by "folding" the little square they form.

Is there a way to choose the orientation of the triangles such that the structure cannot move? Is there a theory I can refer to in order to understand this? 2D is very easy, but the counting of degrees of freedom seems different in 3D, if possible at all when the structure has the topology of a surface.

Thank you in advance,
AQ

PS I don't know if the homework area is more appropriate for this question, sorry.

Last edited by a moderator:
Astronomy news on Phys.org