Options for continuing education with inability to take out loans

In summary, it sounds like the author is worried about not being able to go to school if they cannot get the money upfront for tuition. They have three options: borrow the money from a well-off acquaintance, work while studying, or find a job that covers the cost of tuition. If they could find a job that paid well, they would not be in any debt.
PhizKid
For my first year at community college I was short ~$600 since financial aid didn't cover all my expenses, so when I went to multiple banks to see if I could take out a loan, they all labelled me as a credit liability because I didn't have any credit nor a job at the time. I had to borrow the money from a rather well-off acquaintance and he jokingly told me to pay him back when I got my PhD because he knows I studied hard to go back to school.

Next year, if I get approximately the same amount of aid as the previous year, worst case scenario I will have to get extremely lucky in finding a job (considering I could not find a job for months before I started school) for several weeks just enough to pay the tuition and then quit the job afterwards. Or I can give up my summer research opportunity and sacrifice polishing up my academic resume for transferring to a 4-year school and just find work to pay off my second year of community college.