Need help learning to construct proofs

• Thread starter quasar_4
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Proofs
In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges of writing proofs in an upper level math course on Theory of Linear Algebra. The individual is seeking resources and strategies for constructing proofs, including a recommendation for a book on problem solving. They also mention the importance of understanding theorems and techniques in successfully writing proofs.
quasar_4
so, I am in my first upper level math course beyond required calculus and the introductory linear algebra class. I don't know if it's just a great jump or if I slept through something, but suddenly everything is all about doing proofs. I'm okay with that, and I think it's fabulous because proofs seem to yield deeper conceptual understanding, but I have no experience whatsoever with writing/constructing proofs. I can memorize axioms and whatnot, but then how do I get started? anyone have any good texts on proof writing or know of any resources that could help me? I'm clueless here!

I don't know if it makes a difference (with regards to what kind of proof I should study) but the class is Theory of Linear Algebra. I love the topic, just have no idea how to prove things for every case... :blushing:

Mathematics news on Phys.org
yes there is a good book called Problem Solving by "C" Larson. Not sure if the C is the write letter.

the main way that I learned how to do proofs was to cram allt he theorems on one page. granted that you actually have to understand these theorems.

The straight forward method is to just rearrange your problem by regurgitating each step via one the theorems that you have learned up till that point.

Larson's Book outlines steps you should take to rearranging a given problem in such as looking for a counterexample(contradiction), recursion(can't remember the proper term...oh induction), look for symmetry and parity.