Laundry detergent and grease question

• Thread starter quickslant
  • Start date
In summary, detergent acts on grease by surrounding it with its molecule that has two ends - one that attaches to the grease and the other that attaches to water. This allows the water to pull the grease away in smaller droplets. The use of hot water increases the efficiency of this process. Detergents with ionic "handles" are the key to breaking down the surface tension of water and deactivating the detergent over time.
quickslant
When detergent acts on grease (their claim it cuts the grease) what this really means is that the detergent surrounds the grease making it water-soluable correct? that's what i got so far, but I am not sure how that works. can someone explain it to me on a molecular level?

Biology news on Phys.org
I am no expert but my limited understanding is that there are two components - a detergent and an emulsifier:

Grease - being organic fat and oil based - is water-repellent, so the polar configuration of water can't tear it apart (which is what it usually does to most things). Fats and oils are some of the few things that are immune to water's "nigh-universal solvent" property.

But the detergent molecule has a shape with two different ends - one end has an affinity for oils and attaches itself to the grease, the other end has an affinity for water and allows water to attach to it.

The grease now literally has a handle that the water can grab and pull. The blob of grease is torn into smaller micro droplets, which are further surrounded by the oil-loving detergent molecules. The micro droplets are prevented from coalescing back into a large blob of grease while at the same time the water is free to transport the droplets away.

Using hot water gives the water molecules more "kick", making them more efficient at ripping apart the fats and oil molecules.