Math subjects prior to starting physics

• Thread starter ahmadmz
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the individual is seeking advice on self-studying math to prepare for future studies in electrical/computer engineering, computer science, and physics. They have reviewed some basics and geometry and plan to study algebra, trig, and calculus in that order. They are also looking for recommendations on books for these subjects at a high school - 1st year college level. Suggestions are given for the Schaum Outlines series and "Calculus Made Easy" for calculus and trigonometry. The "Demystified" series and "The Complete Idiot's Guide to..." are suggested for algebra. Linear Algebra, Fourier analysis, and differential equations are also mentioned as important topics for engineering students.
ahmadmz
Hi, i am currently trying to study math on my own. I graduated from high school 5 years ago and was always average in math. For some reasons i could not attend college, but now finally i might be able to. I plan on doing electrical/computer engineering or comp sci someday and am also interested in physics. But my math is not too good. So i reviewed some basics and geometry. Now i plan on studying algebra, trig, calculus. In that order, and plan to start physics when i reach Calculus. The last class i took in college was college algebra but i barely remember anything from it. I have a few months to study on my own and want to master basic geometry/trig/algebra myself before i start college.
Since my first math class might be Calc 1 (or Trig if that is a prereq).