Undergraduate in Physics (need advice)

In summary: I'm really happy to find a forum like this, as I've spent a lot of time reading the career and academic guidance section and have realized I have a lot of questions myself. I'm a 20 year old undergraduate student at Mcgill university majoring in physics, and I've completed my U1. My main problem is my low GPA, which is currently at 2.03. I really love physics and want to pursue my studies in thermodynamics, but I'm unsure about my future. I've also asked about how undergraduate article publications work and whether I should study by myself or work with a professor. It's going to be hard work from here on out, and I will need to improve academically if I want
Machete_B
Hello guys!

Well, where to start? First I want to say that I'm really happy to find a forum like this, I've spend like 2 hours reading the career and academic guidance section, and I realized that I have a lot of questions myself.

Before I start I apologize for my future grammatical mistakes, I spend 12 years of my life in french school and I learned English recently.

So here is my story. As mentioned in the title, I'm a 20 year old undergraduate student at Mcgill university. I'm doing a major in physics, and I have completed my U1. I'm taking 4 courses per session so I plan to finish it in 4 years (the whole B.Sc).

The main problem, and the reason why I need some advice, is my GPA (grades).

I was at 2.2/4 after my first year, which is not outstanding, I know. Things got better with some B+, and then I failed my first course in U2 (Math course), and now I'm at 2.03. I went to see the advisor and he told me that I can still continue, and that I need to take some «easy» courses (200 level, general interest physics courses).

Hopefully my GPA will go above 3.0 by the end of my B.Sc.

I really, really, really love physics. Otherwise I would have switched to something «easier» after my first term (got 4 C+ :/)