Should I learn Programming or learn to build things?

In summary, many employees prefer to have some programming and engineering experience, as this will give them an advantage over someone who does not. It is possible to get an internship with no technical or programming skills, as long as you are interested in the field and have a passion for it.
Metta
Hi fellas. Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I basically wanted to know if it is better to learn programming different languages rather than say building things? The reason I ask is because I want to get an internship by next year and I have no experience with programming or building stuff so which one would you guys recommend? Obviously having a knowledge of either gives one a significant advantage over a person who doesn't. I am in my second year of mechanical engineering if that helps.

Basically do employees prefer one over the other?

Also is it possible to get an internship with zero technical and programming skills?

Physics news on Phys.org
A mechanical engineer will ultimately design or analyze some system, so it is worthwhile to learn programming and perhaps to learn to build or construct things.

Some simple systems, e.g., a heating or cooling system, may be treated with simple or standard calculations. More complicated systems, e.g., turbomachinery, require more complicated simulations.

Does one wish to do design and analysis, or testing and experimental work, or both?

I agree that the correct answer is both. At this point in your career you don't know what you will want to do eventually. Also, in my experience most engineers do at least a little scripting that is required to do simulations or massage data. Therefore, at least one course in programming is mandatory (and as far as I know required in most curricula).