Learn Programming Through Source Code Examples: Tips and Tools

In summary, the best way to learn programming is by reading and understanding other people's source-code, which can be found on websites such as Planet Source Code and Programmer's Heaven. While journals may also publish source-code, they are not as readily available. It is important to note that source-code and algorithms are not the same thing. The best way to improve programming skills is through practice.
kant
I am new to programming( I done a quarter on C, but that s it). i had heard that the best way to learn about programming is by reading and understanding other peoples source-code( bill gate) . Are there any website i could go to do just that? Reading other peoples source-code?

another questions( related):

There seem to be some type of academic journals for every academic subject you can imagine these days. Are there any journals where professionals or academic programmers publish source-code to unique problems?( something similar to "mathematical intelligencer" etc..?)

A trival question:

is "source-code" also called "Algorithm" in computer science?

Last edited:
Computer science news on Phys.org
j thing that better way to learn C is to write by your own a programs. U can pattern on the other source-code or fine a book or a course with codes.

the best way to learn code is by example. And recode...but to start off you should go through certain startup tutorials liek those outta a textbook. for online just type Tutorials in C++ or C

And no, source-code is not algorithm. Algorithm is theorectical process of computing something. Like Factoring, Triangulation, Collision Detection, GameFrame etc, NeuralNet Activation, Sorting & Searching

The best way to learn programming is by doing. There is no other substitute.

www.planet-source-code.com