Differences Between Free Basis and Basis: A Comprehensive Guide

• Thread starter pivoxa15
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Basis
In summary, the conversation discusses the differences between a basis and an ordered basis in linear algebra. The speaker believes that there is no difference between the two and provides evidence from their studies and research on the topic. They also mention that in the context of modules, all modules for fields are free, so the two terms agree in this case.
pivoxa15

Homework Statement

What are the differences between the two?

Physics news on Phys.org
Do you mean ordered basis?

Don't think so.

Just surfing wiki, I get the impression that there is none. Do you have a reason to believe that there is a difference?

quasar987 said:
Just surfing wiki, I get the impression that there is none. Do you have a reason to believe that there is a difference?

Yeah, looks the same to me. This is what I studied in my linear algebra course: there's something called a basis and then something called an ordered basis. A basis with an ordering of elements (somewhat like an indexing set that has been fixed which maps to elements of your basis) is called an ordered basis.

I think when you say free basis, you probably mean a basis without ordering...but that's just a wild guess. I haven't come across this term (free basis) in my reading of any standard textbook on Linear Algebra (cf Hoffman/Kunze).

I am talking about it in the sense of modules.

If you look here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_module

they define a free module as a module having a free basis. But then they give the definition of a free basis and it is an exact analogy to what is simply called a 'basis' in linear algebra:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basis_(linear_algebra)#Definition

Another reason why I suspect that there is no difference btw the two is the following sentence in the article about modules: