What should I eat and how can I calm my nerves before my first live performance?

• Thread starter mephisto51
  • Start date
In summary, in one month you will be performing in front of a crowd of 150+ people at the Relay for Life show. You are wondering what foods to eat to improve your vocals and how to calm your nerves. Some advice given includes drinking water at room temperature, avoiding cold water, not consuming alcohol or caffeine before the performance, having a light meal beforehand, and doing vocal exercises. It is also important to have confidence and not overthink your food and drink choices.
mephisto51
In one month I am scheduled to perform live (Sing and guitar) at the Relay for Life show. This is my first time performing in front of a crowd. (150+ people) I heard that based upon the foods you eat, the better your vocals can sound or simply interact better, what should I eat?
Secondly, I'm nervous and I know that's a normal thing. Is there anyway to calm that down when I get that fear of them 'boo'ing? I heard some foods somehow help with that too.
Also, any advice that's relevant to performing? or certain things I should keep aware of?
Sources would be appreciated too.
Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
All I know is to drink water at room temperature. Cold water will tighten your vocal cords.

Encourage your audience to drink a lot of alcohol :tongue2:.

Just relax. Warm up atleast 20 mins before you go on stage, play an easy first track so that you get used to the stage and save the tougher tracks for later. Make sure you have a friend or someone you trust on the mixer who keeps everyone else away from it while you're playing. Dont worry about the actual playing/singing; going on stage is easier than you might imagine.

Not much advice to add. Just wanted to say- Good Luck!

You braver than me, but your also probably a much better guitarist than me if your even considering performing! I'm sure you'll be fine. :smile: