Scientists cover the mirror with a stratum that doesn't hold water

In summary, scientists have discovered that by covering a mirror with a layer of oil and then a layer of detergent, the surface tension of water droplets is reduced, causing them to bead up instead of forming a foggy layer. This process is similar to applying car wax, but the layers need to be very thin to be effective. It is still unclear how exactly the atoms are arranged in this system.
sitokinin
I'm a high school student.

I heard that scientists cover the mirror with a stratum that doesn't hold water. Thus when you get out of the shower, you can see your reflection into the mirror in a smooth way.

I've been searching this structure. I want to indicate my ideas with composing them. How does the atoms in this system line? Could you suggest me a website or a direct person to find what the system's strucure is?

Science news on Phys.org
As far as I know (which is very little) the idea is simply to first aplly a thin coat of an oil followed by a similar coat of some detergent. The detergent molecules have hydrophilic and hydrophobic ends. The hydrophobic ends bond well with the oil layer, making the hydrrophilic ends stick out. When a water droplet forms on the mirror, the hydrophilic ends stick to the surface of the droplet reducing its surface tension. This causes the water to bead up, rather than form a fine foggy dispersion or layer.

It's not much different from a car wax, I imagine. The only significant difference is that you might want the thickness of the layers to be not much larger than the wavelength of light (less than 0.5 microns thick).

Hmm... I wonder that do the scientists line these atoms just top of the mirrors surface or they line them with an orderly regulation?

1. What is the purpose of covering the mirror with a stratum that doesn't hold water?