How to Use a Lock-In Amplifier for Johnson Noise Experiments

In summary, The conversation discusses the use of a Lock In Amplifier for a Johnson Noise experiment, and the question of whether a book or website exists that thoroughly explains its usage. The discussion also touches on the concepts of low pass filters and roll off in Lock-in amplifiers and when it may be preferable to use a lower order filter.
JamesJames
Is there a book or website that explains throughly how to use a Lock In Amplifier? I have never used one before and am using it in a Johnson Noise experiment with the "Art of Experimental Physics by Preston and Dietz" acting as the lab manual.

Engineering news on Phys.org
http://www.cpm.uncc.edu/programs/tn1000.pdf [Broken]

Last edited by a moderator:
help

Dear all,

I understand the meaning of low pass filter and roll off in Lock-in amplifiers (I think at least). Pratically, the 24db/octave roll off should be better for a grater signal to noise ratio.

So. why there is the possibility to use lower order filters? When I should prefere a 6db/octave filter?

thank you all for help

1. What is a lock-in amplifier and how does it work?

A lock-in amplifier is an electronic instrument used to measure small signals buried in noise. It works by using a reference signal to demodulate the input signal, making it easier to distinguish the desired signal from the noise.

2. How do I set up a lock-in amplifier for Johnson noise experiments?

To set up a lock-in amplifier for Johnson noise experiments, you will need to connect the input signal (typically from a resistor) to the lock-in amplifier's input, and the reference signal (usually from a function generator) to the reference input. You will also need to set the correct input and reference frequencies, as well as the time constant and filter settings.

3. Can a lock-in amplifier be used for other types of noise measurements?