Study Guides for GRE & P-GRE: Electrical Engineer at OU

• Thread starter wesley7777
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gre Study
In summary, looking for books to teach oneself quantum mechanics for the physics GRE is a good idea, but there are many different options to choose from.
wesley7777
So i will tell you were i am coming from. I am a Electrical Engineer at OU and the idea has wondered into my mind about going into physics. The thing is i am week in classical mechanics and have no Quantum mechanics(Though i hope to take it next year). What would be some really good books that i could use to teach myself this, I need lots of examples or the solutions to the problems something like that.

The other thing is can anyone recommend a really good book to start studying for the GRE and the Physics GRE?

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not so sure about GRE prep books... but I do know the typical undergraduate preparation suggested for graduate studies is (in semesters):

1 term of thermodynamics (I've most recently seen Schroeder, An Introduction to Thermal Physics used)
1-2 terms of advanced classical mechanics (a book like Marion/Thornton is often used, although it's probably not the best)
1-2 terms of quantum mechanics (Griffiths is fairly common, but again prehaps not the best)
2 terms of advanced electrodynamics emphasizing FIELD THEORY (again Griffith's text is pretty common, and quite decent for the purpose).
2 terms advanced lab in physics (usually with modern physics, circuits, etc.)

Perhaps others can make other text recommendations or suggest good study materials.

Goldstein is another "standard" text for classical mechanics. Alternatively, consider the new book by David Morin. It's more introductory than Goldstein, but it's excellent for self study.

Having said that, don't skip any courses because of the desire to catch up or finish in a compressed schedule.