Sample Space for Free Particle in the general case

In summary, the conversation discusses the solution to Schrodinger's Equation for a free particle in the general case. It is noted that the given solution is not normalizable and does not accurately represent a free particle, but can still be useful for certain applications. The idea of using a wave packet instead is also mentioned.
IronHamster
I am a beginner to quantum mechanics and am trying to make sense of Schrodinger's Equation. I am attempting to find probabilities in the case of a free particle in the general case.

It is my understanding that the solution to Schrodinger's Equation in the general case of a free particle is as follows:

[tex]\psi(X,T) = e^{i/\hslash ( px - Et)}[/tex]

The modulus square of this is 1, which means the probability density function is uniform.

Two questions:
1. Over what values of x is this pdf defined? Can we eliminate all values of x > ct?
2. Am I correct to interpret x as the distance from the (known) starting position of the particle at t = 0?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Notice that that wave-function is not normalizable. The integral of the modulus square of that wave-function over all space is infinite. A free particle wave function cannot actually be what you gave, but must be a wave-packet.

Matterwave said:
Notice that that wave-function is not normalizable. The integral of the modulus square of that wave-function over all space is infinite. A free particle wave function cannot actually be what you gave, but must be a wave-packet.

So are you saying that the solution I mentioned does not describe a free particle wave? I'm not sure how that could be, I have read from multiple sources that it is.

Is there a different approach that needs to be taken to achieve a normalizable function?