Charging a capacitor with induction

In summary, Iain was trying to explain to Jim Hardy how capacitors work and how they can be used to store energy. He also mentioned that AC is not the best way to charge a capacitor, as it periodically reverses direction and magnitude. He then showed Jim a flashlight with a rectifying bridge inside, and explained that to charge the capacitor, you need to use a DC circuit and rectify the AC to DC. He also mentioned that batteries are usually added to capacitors to store energy for a longer period of time. He also mentioned that if there are no capacitors that can hold a charge for a long time, he might have to add his battery idea to the circuit.
itskinner
Hello all,

I am new here. So you see where my lack of understanding comes from; my background is as a Mechanical Engineer and I'm currently in my masters year. I haven't touched electronics since A levels but I was hoping somebody could point me in the right direction. These forums tend to have a policy of helping people figure things out by themselves and I welcome that with open arms so I'm just asking for pointers and a little patience :)

I'm trying to come up with a simple circuit that charges a capacitor with kinetic energy, preferably using a magnet. My initial thoughts are using a wire coil with the magnet to create a voltage but if you can picture a magnet in a sealed tube with a coil inside it and you're shaking this thing you'll presumably be creating an AC current if the coil is connected to a circuit. So my first question is can you charge a capacitor with an AC current utilising other components and my second question is, if not, how would you create a DC current with the coil and the magnet scenario so as to charge the capacitor and get it to store the charge for a period of time.

If what I'm saying is gibberish to you knowledgeable people I'll try and rephrase.

Thank you kindly for any responses,

Iain

Engineering news on Phys.org