Basic EE question for you guys.

• Thread starter BigSteve
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Ee
In summary, the circuit will take an analog input of 5V to 0V and will output a 0V to 12V voltage. The voltage will change depending on the distance of the object being measured. A dual op-amp can be used to achieve this, however the resistor divider is only necessary if 5V is not available as the reference.
BigSteve
Hi folks.
I am ME/AE by profession but I love robotics and I tinker. I have pretty much zero EE experience so this question probably has a simple answer, I just don't know where to look.
Basically i will have a rangefinder with an analog output. I want to invert and multiply that output. So that farther readings will result in higher voltage to a motor. Also, the multiplication will be very small, like 5V to 12V.
Thanks.

Engineering news on Phys.org
BigSteve said:
Hi folks.
I am ME/AE by profession but I love robotics and I tinker. I have pretty much zero EE experience so this question probably has a simple answer, I just don't know where to look.
Basically i will have a rangefinder with an analog output. I want to invert and multiply that output. So that farther readings will result in higher voltage to a motor. Also, the multiplication will be very small, like 5V to 12V.
Thanks.

Is multiply mean gain to you? Is the input 0 to +5V and you want the output 0 to -12V?

What speed is the voltage change? What is the driving requirement of the motor that the circuit has to drive? What I mean is how much current you need to drive the motor.

Usually all you need is a simple op-amp inverting configuration with a gain of -12/5 = -2.4 if that is what you meant but multiply.

Yeah, I probably didn't explain that quite right.