Stopping Distance on dry pavement

In summary: I think it would be a good idea to start with a simple one like the displacement equation. Then you can work your way up to more complicated ones if you need to.In summary, if the coefficient of kinetic friction between tires and dry pavement is 0.800, the shortest distance an automobile can be stopped by locking the brakes is 29.7m/s.
quick02si
Hello everyone this is my first time in the forum and I'm actually having lot of trouble with my Physics homework. Hope someone can help me. Here's one of the problems and thanks in advanced.
If the coefficient of kinetic friction between tires and dry pavement is 0.800, what is the shortest distance in which an automobile can be stopped by locking the brakes when traveling at 29.7 ? Take the free fall acceleration to be 9.80 .

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Please include units with all your data whenever you post. Also show us how you have attempted the problem and where you got stuck.

I'm sorry I didn't even notice that I missed the units.
Here is the problem again:
If the coefficient of kinetic friction between tires and dry pavement is 0.800, what is the shortest distance in which an automobile can be stopped by locking the brakes when traveling at 29.7m/s? Take the free fall acceleration to be 9.80m/s^2.
On this problem I don't know how to start it off. Thats where I get stuck. I don't know how to incorporate the kinetic friction to find distance.

I think this is best done with work-energy concepts due to the lack of a value for mass of the car. What happens to the initial (kinetic) energy of the car while it skids?

I think I see what you are saying but my problem is that I haven't completely gone through that yet. That is the next chapter. The chapter that is problem comes from is Applying Neton's Laws, but I'm stuck. Thanks for your help

So they want you to do this with kinematics formulas?