Studying physics, but want to be a game physics programmer

In summary, a physics degree can be valuable for a variety of fields, but it's not essential for game programming. A comp sci degree is more important for game programming.
TheDiamondDog
Hello all physicists/engineers!
I am currently in my last year of college and will be leaving to go to university next year (in the U.K). I am having real trouble deciding whcih course I want to take, so just to be on the safe side I have decided to take physics, just plain physics (maybe physics with computers). I was thinking engineering, but I have no passion for that field.
What I do have a passion for is video games, I was thinking of taking a computer science course, but that course is overly flooded, so I was thinking of taking a physics course and learning programming on the side.

By doing the physics degree, I also have a backup as its such a diverse degree, I could go into many fields.
So what I am asking is, is this a good idea for me to do?
Is it possible to do a physics degree and work in the games programming field?
Would Game development companies recruit a physics graduate?
Also, I have no clue about physics programming, could someone point out some books or programs to use to get me started, as I have heard many stories about students who make games in their spare time, but I have no idea how to go about this.
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm a programmer who studied physics on the side.

Personally, if your passion is really game programming, I'd focus on comp-sci. While I'm not a game programmer, I'd suspect that the physics involved in game programming would frequently just be fairly elementary mechanics. So all the advanced mechanics, EM, QM, and relativity etc. that you'd learn would be less relevant to game programming than focussing on solid coding skills, data structures, algorithms, algorithm efficiency, etc.

Yeah -- there'd be a lot of physics which isn't really useful to game programming.