Need 0-3v output from 0-12v input

In summary, the conversation is about a student looking for a way to dim a gauge in their car using a 3v source and a control knob. They have considered using a resistor but would prefer an adjustable solution. One suggestion is to use a voltage regulator, while another suggests a simple two resistor voltage divider. They also discuss the current draw of the gauge and how to test it. The conversation ends with a recommendation to use a voltage regulator to address potential voltage fluctuations in the car.
Atomic178
Hi, this isn't a homework question, but this is one of the best technical forums I've seen for stuff like this so I thought I would give it a shot.

Im an aerospace engineering student (3rd year) and like all engineers I like to tinker with stuff, but electrical wiring like this is not my specialty.

I have a gauge in my car that runs off a 3v source. I want to be able to dim it with the interior control knob that controls all the other lights (and 2 gauges right beside this one). I emailed the manufacturer about it and they said just throw in a resistor until its where you want it. I don't really like that idea since I want to be able to adjust it with the other gauges.
Let me back up and say the gauge lighting is run on a constant 3v from the sending unit. The typical car system is 12v, obviously. What I want is basically a linear control over the gauge, ie, I have the knob at 6v I want the gauge at 1.5v; 12v to 3v; 0v to 0v.

I asked one of my professors and he mentioned a voltage regulator, but I have never used those before...

Thanks in advance.

Engineering news on Phys.org
A simple two resistor voltage divider might work if the gauge doesn't draw too much current.

http://web.mit.edu/rec/www/workshop/voltage-divider.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
Yea, I considered a voltage divider, but will it always give the same ratio no matter the input voltage since it has a range of 0-12?