Requirements for Applied Math Grad. Programs

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's academic background and their plans to pursue a degree in applied math. They are unsure about the required courses for an applied math Masters/PhD program and ask for advice on what courses to take. They also mention their preference for applied math courses over pure math courses and ask if this will affect their admissions into a graduate program. The response advises them to take some pure math courses to prepare for the Math GRE and to not shy away from proof-based courses.
anonymity
Hello everyone,

I am an undergrad double majoring in mechanical engineering and mathematics. I want to say, up front, that I cannot really see myself ever pursuing a degree in pure math. I expect (at least, for now this is the case -- who knows what the future actually holds), that I will stay in some field of engineering or applied math.

The reason I am posting this question is that my school has very lenient requirements for their mathematics degree. I am essentially allowed to pick whichever courses I want to take, and am only required to take 30 credits (caclulus, ODEs, linear algebra, etc.. All lower-level things that engineers and science majors would be taking, with the exception of an intro to proofs course, on set theory). As for all of the other courses (mostly upper-level) the student has a high level of decision power (assuming they fulfill the math credit requirements, and the upper level math requirements -- both credit number requirements, not specific courses).

Currently, I am planning on taking all "applied" courses (ie, no pure math -- no real/complex analysis or proof based LA or abstract algebra). Everything is basically differential equations, mathematical modeling, or numerical analysis.

So I guess my question has two parts: