Outlining the fields of astrophysics and particle

In summary: I apologize. :)In summary, if you're interested in a career in physics and don't enjoy the higher level courses, it may be a good idea to consider another field. However, if you're good at math and have an interest in physics, studying physics at a university may be a good option.

Astrophysics or Plasma Physics as a career?

• Total voters
z3hr
I'm a senior in high school and I'm thinking about going into astronomy or astrophysics as a major. I have a 4.0 GPA and a 1350 on the SAT so I don't think I'm going to get into any upper level ivy leagues, but I was just wondering about some colleges that offer astronomy or astrophysics. A couple in particular that I was looking at are University of Florida, Boston University, Renselear Polytechnic, Rochester University, and Virginia Tech. Any information on these schools or others would be helpful, money is an issue and I'm a Florida resident so I'm not sure how many of these would be realistic options financially.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I was just wondering lately if there is distinction between Astronomy PhDs and Physics PhDs as far as job prospects go? It seems obvious to me that there are slightly less Universities here in the US that have Astronomy programs and departments than ones that have Physics departments.. Does that translate to even less of job outlook for Astronomers -- or is that negated by the fact that there are probably more Physicists than Astronomers?

How about outside of academia? Are the prospects in government or private sector better or worse for one subject or the other?

My interests have been gravitating towards both particle and astrophysics. The topics facing these particular physicists has drew my attention and the fondation of these two subjects are fascinating.