High School Guidance - Answers to Math & College Q's

In summary, the individual is seeking advice on several topics related to college and academics. They have self-taught themselves calculus and are wondering if there are any recommended books for advanced calculus. They also plan on taking 7 AP classes in their last two years of high school and are wondering if AP English and foreign languages are important. They are also seeking recommendations for physics books.
drosser
I have several questions hoping someone could help me.

I am nearing the end of my 10th grade year. I realized I should start thinking about college soon so I taughted myself calculus from Howard Anton's book called Calculus with Analytic Geometry last month hoping I could test out of calculus next year. I found out that I wasn't allowed to and that it wasn't a good idea anyway because calculus was the basis for all future math. I made sure I understood the concepts from the book by setting a goal for myself by explaining the concept to my friends and mom (who had no prior knowledge) on an index card. I was informed after calculus there is advanced calculus. Is there any recommended books for this topic?

My next question involves college. I have been slacking the last two years not taking any advanced classes except math. I plan on taking 7 AP classes the last two years of high school. I will be taking AP Chemistry, AP Biology, AP Physics, 2 years of AP Computer Science, AP Calculus AB, and AP Calculus BC. I want to go to a highly rated college like MIT or Caltech and the like because I really like math and physics. Does it matter if I take AP English? Are foreign languages important (should I take 2 or 3)?

For physics I plan on picking up the book called Problems in General Physics by I. E Irodov. Are there any other recommended books for physics?

Physics news on Phys.org