Physical basis of Neurophysiology

In summary, to become a researcher in this area, you will need to obtain a Bachelor's degree in a related field, such as bio-physics or psychology. From there, you can pursue graduate studies in fields like cognitive neural psychology, kinesiology, or medical school. Neurophysiology involves both electrical and chemical impulses, and research in this area can focus on the processes of nerve signaling and neurotransmitter effects. There are also mathematical approaches to studying nerve firing patterns and memory recall.
flyzeggs
Any suggestions on how to go about becoming a researcher in this area?

I have very little formal background in math and physics and will be studying this on my spare time (which means when I'm not working on the cognitive stuff, though I would love to integrate something more rigorous into my thesis), as such I require an easy introduction to this field (although I've always been very good at math). I really don't know where to start (both in terms of the math and physics) and most of what I find are mathematical models of neurons with very little reference to condensed matter physics.

It would be great if the forum could offer me some guidance on this issue.

Thanks a lot!

Physics news on Phys.org
flyzeggs said:
Any suggestions on how to go about becoming a researcher in this area?

You'll first need to get an Bachelor's in an appropriate field. I would assume something like a bio-physics major with some kind of "Physiology" focused minor.
Then you'll need to go on to graduate school in an appropriate field. I believe there is research on neural physiology in many fields.
You could go to grad school for psychology, cognitive neural psychology, kinesiology, medical school, bio-physics, etc.
I don't know what your background is, but here is a synopsis of neurophysiology (my previous degree is in Kinesiology):

Nerves send impulses in two fundamental fashions, electrical and chemical.