Can recording the dual slit experiment affect future outcomes?

• Thread starter maquick
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Dual Slit
In summary, the experiment shows that observation can change reality on a subatomic level. It is unclear if the observer needs to be sentient, as a sensor with no output would still effect the outcome, but I believe that what actually happens is the observation causes the probability to collapse backward in time. We wouldn't notice it of course since it already happened to us. If this is true, it could be taken further, as in if Obama is relected we open the file, if he isn't we destroy it. I am just a high school student with some light research into theoretical physics, so please don't judge my ability too harshly.
maquick
I am familiar with the dual slit experiment up to the point where measuring at one slit made the interference pattern collapse.

My question is has anyone tried using a sensor of some kind that has no memory or output? Does the observer have to be sentient? I have a feeling someone has.

If an observer has to be sentient, i assume a device that records to be read later would destroy the pattern also. I theorize that what actually happens is the observation causes the probability to collapse backward in time. We wouldn't notice it of course since it already happened to us...

Ok, assuming all this is true. What happens when you record the slit onto media that you later have an independent 50/50 chance of completely destroying or observing? Would we actually know the future of the later 50/50 chance by observing the pattern made at the time of measurement? If this is it true could it be taken in further? As in if Obama is relected we open the file, if he isn't we destroy it.

I'm pretty sure my chain of logic collapsed at some point. Paradoxes abound. Something simpler like it will rain next tuesday may work since it's beyond our control.