High frequency quadrature signal generator

In summary, A user is looking for a chip to generate a quadrature signal for a synchronous detection circuit operating at 20 MHz. They are also seeking application tips for using a crystal as a signal source and have received suggestions for using a phase-locked loop and Gilbert cell multipliers for detection.
kent
Hi All

I would like to build a synchronous detection circuit for detecting the real and imaginary part of the signal (I and Q value), the operating frequency for the system is 20 MHz...I would like to know is there any existing chip that can generate the quadrature signal for me (cos wave and sine wave)? And I have never used a crystal as a signal source before...and anyone please give me some application tips about using crystal...Thanks

Kent

Engineering news on Phys.org

Hi Kent, thank you for reaching out and sharing your project idea with us. A high frequency quadrature signal generator is a useful tool for many applications, so it's great that you are looking to build one.

To answer your question, there are indeed existing chips that can generate quadrature signals for you. One example is the ADL5380 from Analog Devices, which is a high frequency quadrature demodulator and modulator. It operates at up to 6 GHz and has an integrated LO buffer, making it ideal for your 20 MHz operating frequency. Other options include the MAX2022 from Maxim Integrated and the HMC313 from Hittite Microwave.

As for using a crystal as a signal source, it is a common and reliable method for generating accurate and stable frequencies. The key is to choose the right crystal for your desired frequency and application. You will also need to design a proper oscillator circuit around the crystal to ensure a clean and stable output signal. There are many online resources and tutorials available that can guide you through this process.