Direction of Friction Problem HELP

In summary: What about the normal reaction and friction? What is the direction of the frictional force?In summary, the direction of friction depends on the relative slipping motion between two surfaces in contact. In the first case, when a body is rolling on a rough horizontal surface, the friction force is in the same direction as the applied force. In the second case, when a body is rolling down an inclined plane with no external force, the friction force is opposite to the direction of motion. The force of friction always opposes or tends to oppose relative slipping motion and is dependent on the direction of the applied force and the normal reaction.
metalInferno
Direction of Friction Problem .. HELP!

Homework Statement

i am a student studying very basic rotational motion . i recently came across these problem while i was reading my book .
1. in 1 question , when a body was rolling (with external force) on a rough horizontal surface , the force of friction was in the same direction as the applied force .

2. a body was rolling down an inclined plane (with no external force) with angle of inclination [tex]\theta[/tex] the the force of friction was opposite to the direction of motion . Please explain slowly and step by step as this is very important .

Homework Equations

none

The Attempt at a Solution

all i noe is that when a body rotates the friction force is supposed to be opposite and should somehow increase the angular acceleration . but if in a case when it is in the same direction as the motion it should decrease the angular acceleration . please feel free to point out if i m wrong .

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Was the direction of the applied force in situation 1 in the same direction as the velocity of the object?