Advice for Average International Student on University Choice

• Thread starter rukshan
  • Start date
In summary, the speaker is an average international student looking for middle ranking universities. They have a GPA of 3.70 in their major, 3.52 overall, and a GRE physics score of 730. They have been accepted to the University of Mississippi and Wayne State University, with an interest in condensed matter. Climate and rank are important factors for them, but they are unsure about both universities. They are seeking recommendations from domestic students. Wayne State University has an excellent condensed matter physics program and a diverse student body. The speaker is from Sri Lanka and is considering condensed matter, astronomy/astrophysics, and high energy/nuclear fields. The most important factor for them is finding a research group that interests them. Reputation is not
rukshan
Dear Friends,

I'm an average international student and applied for middle ranking universities only.

GPA major = 3.70
GPA overall = 3.52
GRE physics = 730 (64%)

I got admission from Uni. of Mississippi and Wayne State university. My research interest is undecided but I like condensed matter. Having milder climate conditions is a gift (but not very important). The rank (recognition) is also important. I don't know much about both. So I would be thankful if one (domestic) can recommend me by considering above points.

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Wayne State University has an excellent condensed matter physics program.
http://www.physics.wayne.edu//research/cmp.html

I'm assuming (from your name) that you are from Asia. Most of the students in the physics and chemistry departments are from India, Sri Lanka, or China. So if indeed you are from one of those countries, that might help becoming acclimated more easily.

Michigan's climate is bearable: harsh winters, mild springs, warm summers, and pleasant autumns.

Last edited by a moderator:
scarecrow said: