Prospective Physics/Math Schedule

• Thread starter Dahaka14
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Schedule
In summary, the speaker is a sophomore who has been accepted into Upper Division for both Mathematics and Physics and plans to double major and pursue a PhD in physics. They are now planning out their coursework for the next few years and want to take as many advanced math courses as possible before going to grad school. They have a planned course schedule for their sophomore, junior, and senior years, and are seeking feedback on this plan. They are also advised to look into research opportunities for their future applications to graduate programs. There may be some concerns about the timing of certain math courses and the lack of certain physics courses in the proposed plan.
Dahaka14
I am a sophomore that just got accepted into Upper Division for both Mathematics and Physics (I am double majoring, and plan to go for a PhD in physics), and now I have to plan out what to take for the next couple of years, I don't think I want to graduate in 2 years because I want to take as many advanced math courses as possible before going to grad school, it seems to me like I should exhaust most upper level math courses so that I can focus on learning the physics later without worrying about my math background, now I have to fill out what I want to take for the next year and turn it into my new advisor, what do you guys think of the following?

by the end of this semester, I will have taken calculus 1-4 and physics 1-3, for next semester I plan on:
Quantum Physics & Quantum Physics Lab (required and fixed for spring sophomore year)
Fourier Analysis
Complex Analysis

Fall junior year:
Methods 1
Quantum Mechanics (undergrad)
Honors: Fundamental Structures of Algebra
Honors: Introduction to Analysis (both math classes are grad level)

Spring junior year:
Methods 2
Electricity and Magnetism (undergrad)
" " Algebra 2
" " Analysis 2

Physics news on Phys.org