Thermodynamics: Heat - Understanding Energy Transfer & Internal Energy

In summary: Correct. The internal energy (U) is the sum of the kinetic energy (K) and the potential energy (E) of all molecules composing the system. The internal energy is an extensive property while the K and E are intensive properties. and a kinetic energy part and a potential energy part; this kinetic energy part, also called "thermal energy", corresponds exactly to the second meaning of heat.No, don't confuse the kinetic energy (K) and the potential energy (E) of an individual molecule with the internal energy (U) of the system. The internal energy is the sum of all the K and E of all molecules. The internal energy may be used to do work (W) and heat flow (Q).In
Hari_Seldon
Hello,

I am a Math student trying to learn some Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics on my own. This has been quite hard, because many concepts are confusing and the terminology is a mess. I have zero background in Physics, so forgive my complete ignorance.

My main problem at the moment is with the definition of heat. From what I understand, the word heat is used with two different meanings. The first meaning is: heat is a kind of energy transfer, as is work, but heat and work are different (and I cannot really understand the difference).

The second meaning is that heat is an amount of energy contained in a system. Correct me if I am mistaken: the sum of all energy contained in a system is called "internal energy"; it may be divided in a potential energy part and a kinetic energy part; this kinetic energy part, also called "thermal energy", corresponds exactly to the second meaning of heat.

In summary the first meaning corresponds to a flow of energy and the second, which should be replaced by "thermal energy", corresponds to a stock of energy. This is somewhat confusing but from the context, it is usually easy to understand which of the two meanings is being employed.