What areas of brain research should I get involved in?

In summary: I'm not sure, I imagine it would be. I fear that without a strong background in Organic and Biochem, I would be lost in Pharmacology.In summary, the person is interested in Neuroscience but is concerned about not being able to do theory well enough and not being able to do Biophysics. They are also interested in Pharmacology but are worried about not being able to do it well without a strong background in Physical and Analytical Chemistry.
HizzleT
I'm doing double honours in Neuroscience, likely biochemistry as well. I have to find a thesis adviser for next year...I know everyone says "follow your heart" or something to that effect, but that's not what I'm looking for, not to impugn anyone will kind intent.

Here's my interested in Med School: 0%. I know, despite what everyone tells me on account of my good grades, that science is the life for me. I'd take a Leica over a Lamborghini any day. I'm in my 3rd year of my undergrad and really want to go to graduate school, I just don't know what to focus on in the remaining 1.5 years of my undergrad. I like Neuroscience and I also enjoy chemistry, like organic and biochem.
I've never taken classes like Phys. Chem or Analytical Chem., although I've taken all three Calc's, or I will by the end of this year, as well as lots of statistics. So, I can think somewhat analytically, which I know is needed to do theory. I've gotten A+ in all my Calculus and Stats classes.

I don't see myself of as a behavioural/psych type of guy, and while I like math, I don't want to do Biophysics (doubt I'd be smart enough to be honest). I know Neuroscience is an exploding field, I just don't know what areas of it would be good to focus on.

What area(s) of brain research should I get involved in?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
It be a great idea to study the function of human intelligence.
Like how does intelligence work on the inside.